Free Webinar Series: Creating Circles of Safety

How organizations and adults can speak up to keep children safe from sexual abuse

Are you worried about whether a child's sexual behaviors are appropriate? Are you concerned about the way an adult is treating a child but not sure what to do about it? Are you afraid that raising concerns can lead to negative fallout for the child, the family or yourself? Do you want to make sure you're doing everything to keep the children around you safe?

This FREE three-part web-based training teaches skills in proactively setting guidelines for privacy and touch and responding skillfully to ambiguous situations involving children or adults. You will gain words to use and confidence to act in situations you might encounter in your family, organization, or community.

"The real-world examples of actions and suggestions for practical application of the material meant I was able to walk away from this training and apply what I learned."--Past Participant

We're sorry.  Both sessions are full!

Week 1: Recognizing and Responding to Children's Sexual Behaviors

  • Focuses on sexual behaviors in children--how to determine whether sexual behaviors in children are age-appropriate and how to use context to determine when behaviors are inappropriate or harmful. We provide guidelines and practice for responding to behaviors outside of what you would expect to see in children of various ages, with a focus on pre-pubescent children.

Week 2: Recognizing and Responding to Adults' Sexual Behaviors

  • Teaches how to recognize behaviors and situations that increase risk of sexual abuse by adults, how to set boundaries with those who interact with children, and how to speak up to keep children safe.

Week 3: Booster Session: Acting to Keep Children Safe from Sexual Abuse

  • Using case studies and your experiences in the past two months, this session focuses on refining our skills for use in a variety of contexts.

"I liked the fact that it was interactive and people could ask questions."  Past Participant

Who should participate in this webinar?

  • professionals who work with families or children, including child care providers, home visitors, and teachers
  • staff and administrators of youth serving organizations
  • parents, foster parents, and other family caregivers
  • volunteers who work with children including coaches, scout leaders, and faith community ministers

This is a Special, One-Time Opportunity to take advantage of our new training for FREE. 

We are able to offer this series for FREE because we are working with researchers to collect evaluation data on the effectiveness of this training. Participants are asked to commit to participating in all three sessions and completing pre- and post-evaluation surveys. All participants will receive a Certificate of Attendance at the end of the 3-part series upon completion of the final post-evaluation survey.

Evening Series: Tuesdays October 2, 9, and December 4, 2012 at 7:30 pm Eastern Time 

  • 6:30 pm Central Time, 5:30 pm Mountain Time, 4:30 pm Pacific Time - check www.worldtimeserver.com for outside the US
  • Duration: 1.5 hours

Daytime Series: Wednesdays October 3, 10, and December 5, 2012 at 2 pm Eastern Time

  • 1 pm Central Time, 12 noon Mountain Time, 11 am Pacific Time - check www.worldtimeserver.com for outside the US
  • Duration: 1.5 hours

We're sorry.  This training is full!

Please note: You cannot switch between day and evening sessions--you have sign up for all daytime sessions or all evening sessions.

"It moved along very nicely, but at the same time felt thorough.  The information shared was of high quality. The scenarios were quite realistic."--Past Participant

Learning objectives

  • Increase your knowledge of warning sign behaviors and situations
  • Increase your confidence in determining concerning or inappropriate behaviors or interactions, both between children and between older youth or adults and children
  • Increase your ability to set safe boundaries for others interacting with children
  • Increase your ability to identify options and take action to reduce risk before a child is harmed
  • Reduce barriers to taking action when you are concerned about risk to a child

What's a webinar?

A webinar is an online workshop where you watch a presentation on the internet and listen to the presenters through the internet or on the telephone. This webinar series will have live text chat and a question and answer session.

Presenters

Yvonne Cournoyer

Yvonne joined the national Stop It Now! staff as Program Director in 2011 to share her experience working at the local community level to implement Stop It Now! prevention activities.

Sarita Hudson

Sarita, Director of Public Engagement, joined Stop It Now! in 2004 and facilitates collaborative relationships with individuals and organizations. Sarita also has primary responsibility for Stop It Now!’s website.

Jenny Coleman

Jenny joined Stop It Now! in 2011 as the Help Services Program Director, where she oversees the planning, coordination and delivery of the Help Services programming. She is a psychotherapist and adult educator, with over 20 years of experience working in the field of child and adolescent trauma.